Sunday, March 21, 2010

I'm Upset!

     Talk about being mad! In the first round alone of the 2010 NCAA Men's Basketball Tourney there were 10 upsets.
Not surprisingly, #5 Temple lost to #12 Cornell in the first round to extend their first round losing streak to three years. Cornell on the other hand snapped a streak: the Ivy league has lost in the first round every year for the last 11 seasons. Until now: enter Cornell. These guys are for real. Shooting 56% for the game this scrappy Ivy League team has proved that they plan to stick around, and stick those shots.
     NOT so surprising is the loss of #3 New Mexico to #11 Washington. Personally I don't believe New Mexico should have been seeded so highly to begin with. Coming from the Mountain West Conference, New Mexico has no real competition throughout the year to even get to the playoffs; besides BYU (who have also already lost). Darington Hobson, Mountain West Player of the Year, padded his stats with 11 points and 9 rebounds but did little else while playing with a sore wrist on his shooting hand.
     St. Mary's? Are you kidding me? They're not. Go big or go home? That is just what they did, knocking down big shots all night with Mickey McConnell nailing a 3-pointer that essentially cinched the game for St. Mary's. Now that they have knocked off a #2 seed, they are going to have to go big again against #3 Baylor in the next round,or go home.
     And now here we are. Who would have ever thought I would be writing about this one? That's right, #1 Kansas has been defeated. Spanked if you will, considering it was #9 N. Iowa who beat them 69-67. Thitry three wins, basically all for nothing. But you have to look at it from my perspective....because this is my blog. 25 turnovers? 6-23 from 3-point range? I'm sorry, did they think this tourney was going to be handed to them? Curiosity killed the cat and overconfidence killed Kansas. But hey, if you look back it is only a case of history repeating itself. Kansas now has lost in the second round of the tournament three times as the #1 seed, which is thee most of any school, so this shouldn't really come as a shock. N. Iowa, however, played brilliantly, shooting 40% from the field. And, if you watched, you will not soon be forgetting Ali Farokhamanesh netting a 3 pointer with 30 seconds left in the game to put N.I. up 66-62. Not only did Kansas blow it in the tournament, but they blew it for millions of fans who were playing their bracket with ESPN.com. According to their website, out of 4.8 million brackets, 98% had Kansas advancing to the Sweet Sixteen, 59% to the Final Four, and 42% winning the National Championship.
     Just goes to show you, nothing in life, or basketball, in guaranteed, and Cinderella stories really just might come true.

Photo from ESPN.com

Friday, March 19, 2010

March Madness!

It's finally here. March madness. And that is exactly what it is. Who could have predicted Ohio knocking off #3 Georgetown? Villanova barely surviving in overtime against 15 ranked Robert Morris. Or, Danero Thomas of 13th seeded Murray State hitting a 15 footeer as the buzzer went off to shock #4 Vanderbilt. And who will forget Baylor winning it's first NCAA tourney game in 60 years! It's insane! No wonder it's called March Madness!
I have found an awesome website that I have embedded that you may check out to keep updated. Use the toolbar at the top to navigate and even print out your own bracket. It has all of the seeded teams in the conferences and scores and updates. It really is an immaculate page. I highly recommend that you check it out.
If enough people become followers and generate interest in this, we might just have to have a contest for the playoffs. Some kind of prize (NOT money, as that would be illegal) would be awarded. Please tell friends to check this out, become followers of this page, and leave comments if interested in this idea. if not, oh well. We can still have fun following the insanity!!!

http://rivals.yahoo.com/ncaa/basketball

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Time of my Life

(FEEDBACK NEEDED!!!) I want to write a book. My life has been filled with enough tragedies to be funny. Not for me, but for anyone who reads it. Physical, mental and emotional abuse as a child; rape; being diagnosed as bipolar. Who can pass up reading a story about me and a friend "accidentally" buying alcohol for minors on our 21st birthdays and then being so paranoid about it that we dropped the "product" in some bushes at a McDonald's for them to pick up, and then drove to a vacent lot only to switch out our license plate with a pocket knife because we were afraid of the cops? Or maybe the Halloween my friend and I dressed like hookers on a dare and actually got propositioned and then the cops tried to bust us because they thought we were pros? And you know two failed maraiges is pure gold for a book. I could write and entire one on my second divorce alone; postpartum psychosis, nuthouses, assault, custody battles, eviction.....I could go on and on, and that's exactly what I want to do. I want to write it all down. In a book. I am mostly reserved about the goings on of my life, the intimate details, but I want to learn how to be more open. It's hard to talk about, so maybe writing would be the best way to get it all out. The hard part would be editing it. There is so much I want to tell. I would appreciate some feedback on this one as I am seriously considering this book writing venture. Comments on whether you think this is a good or bad idea, or maybe if you have tried this kind of thing before and have some tips.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Seasonal Affective Disorder- Life after the SuperBowl

It all started Monday, Feb. 08, 2010; this time. It happens every year, but while most people suffer from this disorder when the winter months set in, my agonizing pain begins when the Lombardi trophy is handed off and the confetti rain ceases to fall. It used to be that I had a glimmer of happiness left, one one last proud stand of the season in the Pro Bowl; but alas, this was wrenched away from me this year as the game was played BEFORE the Super Bowl in MIAMI! (insert stroke) Now, halfway through March, the withdraws have a tight grasp on me. I am like a junkie who needs a fix and can't score until preseason (no pun intended). All I can do is sit in a dark, quiet room watching the bottom line of ESPN for any glimpse of NFL news, wait for the draft (April 22-24; 40 days to go!!!), and make my projections (Nebraska's Suh #1 all the way baby!!).
It's gonna be a long summer.....



(you can also pick up Sporting News' 2010 Draft Guide on sale March 16)

Friday, March 12, 2010

There's no place like...well, anywhere but Sallisaw.

Recently I came into a pair of red high heels. I have never owned anything like them: they are magic. I put them on and instantly I felt like Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. I felt confident, sexy, rockstar-like; but most of all I felt like I could click my heels together and instantly be anywhere but here. Here being Sallisaw, OK. I guess Oklahoma is alright if you are Carrie Underwood...or a meth-head, but it's just not for normal people.
As I walked down the 2 mile long main street of this Godforsaken town in my magnificent heels, all I could think about was clicking them together 3 times and wishing to GET OUT OF HERE!
This town reminds me of a King or Koontz novel. You can smell the stench of meth in the air and see the sunken, souless eyes of the users as they run from doctor to doctor begging for painkillers. It's kind of a mix between a B rated horror movie and Deliverance. Take a wrong turn down a country road and your runnin' for your life as a hillbilly peppers your car with a shotgun trying to protect his bathtub lab. It's only fair that he protect his property though, I mean, not only does he cook his meth in there, but his 5 children are going to need a bath for Sunday church (snicker).
No wonder I want so badly to close my eyes and click those beautiful heels..............

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Retard Reading

I am mortified. I have to take Developmental Reading just to get 6 credits this semester to get my student loans back. ARGH! SERIOUSLY?!?!?!?! It was the only class they has that I had not mad an A in and that wasn't remedial and that financial aid would pay for. This is so degrading. I am not even going to buy a book. I am just going to show up. I am going to be stuck in a class with a bunch of 18 years ols who can't spell their own name or 45 year old crack heads who have forgotten it all. All of the other 2nd 8 week classes avaliable I had already made an A in, or were remedial, so financial aid wouldn't pay for it. YA I can't wait for Friday!!! My first Retard Reading class!!! I am so phucking excited! ha. I hate to have to put Bubba back in daycare again. At least it's only for 2 hours on Wednesday and Friday. Wish me luck!!!